The Mighty Mallards. Episode 7; A Decision with the Heart

24/07/2020

Arrividerci, Franz. Det blir' vor' sidste dans. For jeg må rejse min vej, trods jeg elsker dig. Min ferie er slut min ven.

Yeah, that probably doesn't make sense, but I promise that it will in the end.
In the meantime, open this in another tab: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zDvOv2-eoMo

Right, so let's do a quick summary.
Last episode, we finished in the Championship Group and got a "surprise" playoff game to get into the Euro League II.
Which we obviously lost, so that was a bit of a let-down. BUT it gave us a lot of hope for the new season. We lost a couple of start players (I mean, we lost pretty much all of them) but that gave us money in the bank and I wanted to reinvest and rebuild.
Instead of finishing at the bottom of the Championship group, we're targeting a top 3 spot. At the least.

So, with a decimated squad, I looked towards the transfer market and expected the board to back my up and allow me to bolster the team.

I wanted a couple of strong defenders and went to Longford to pick up Dylan Hand. A young Irish defender, who was going to be the voice of calm and composure in the back. And while I was closing up the deal for Dylan, I saw a winger that caught my eye.
Jack Doherty looked like a guy who would give me an edge. So I had to throw another 32 grand after Longford.
But I obviously needed some more firepower and Seanan Clucas was free, so I had to jump at the chance.
I mean, look at him!

For a Northern Irish player, he is great! A leader, who is determined, great tackler and knows how to pass the ball. He was going to my N'Golo Kante. My, Claude Makelele.
So I was quite happy with the team. Sure, I was missing the star men, but I saw some potential.
I arranged for another perfect mix of friendlies and we came out absolutely demolished.

The ONLY victories we had, were against smaller teams that we expected to beat, but the rest was too strong. We had a massive result against Sunderland and I will take that to the grave with me. Because this is Sunderland! (Which by the way is a great show).
A narrow loss to Middlesbrough and a thumping defeat to Palace was a blow that we had a hard time getting back up from.
But we went into the season with our hopes high and I had faith in the boys. After all, we're The Mighty Mallards!

But. Then something crazy happened!
Out of, almost, nowhere, THIS happened:

Really?
My Old Club? Back on the radar?
Should I?
Could I?
I had to see what had been happening at home. When I left, they were just above the drop in the 2'nd division. So I expected them to be, either there, or worse off.
But I was surprised. They were in the bottom of Division 1!
Wauw. They had become a club in the 2 tier, still Semi Pro, but with ambitions intact.
I was in two minds. I'd built a good team in the Northern Ireland, but My Old Club?
That is a pretty enticing offer.
What did they offer me then?

Hmm. I had to think about this. Could I really turn my back on The Mallards?
Leave, now that I had made them relevant in NI?
No.
No, I can't do that to the guys! I rejected them. I had to stay and see this through.
But it was not an easy choice at all. Quite the contrary. 
However, I can't dwell on the past! I need to move on and focus on Ballinamallard. These are my guys. My Ducks. My Team!

So bring on League and let us make this season, a season to remember!

August and The Trendy Three

Institute came to visit Ferney park and I knew that we had to get this season off to a good start.
And so we did. There was never really any doubt and we were leading 3-0 after 30 minutes. They pulled one back just before halftime, but shortly after the restart, we extended our lead.
But then we did the classic Mallard thing and shut off right after. That resulted in another fast goal pulled back, but I never felt that they had a chance. And surely enough, 76'th minute and we made it 5. The game was over and we had the first 3 points of the season. 
And what a way to do it too! I mean, if we can keep playing like that, then there is no stopping us!
Coleraine, who nicked a couple of my players, were the hosts of a fascinating game. If you look at the attacking part of the game that is. Any teas that lets in that many goals has some serious defensive problems. (And yes! I know. I know. Chelsea suck and our defence is shite. But Kepa is making shite worse! Did you know that his save percentage is just over 50%!!! I mean come on man. You can use your bloody hands!!!! Right, 'nuff a that! Sorry!)

Portadown is a smaller team and I was furious when we drew that, because we did what halted us the last season and let them equalise in the last minutes. It was an all to familiar feeling and started feeling a little... Nervous? No... Angry! Right. That is the word.
Especially because I had bought Dylan Hand, SPECIFICALLY to stop this happening.
But, I guess I can't complain. 7 points from 3 games is a decent haul and the results had put us on the top. Yeah, I guess I was a little happy after all. It feels good to be number 1. 

The Cup game was an easy win and I once again fielded a team of reserves and youth players. Because I knew that they weren't going to get much time in the league. Use them when you can and try to keep them happy. Or at least not make them angry and unhappy.
And then September came sneaking around the corner.

September and The Flip Flopping Five

September is my birthday month, so I want to have a great start and a fantastic ending to the month.
And Crusaders is a good team and they caused us some problems last season, so I expected a hard-fought match. But it was certainly a match to remember! 6-0 against one of the established teams in the league and I was stocked! Wauw. This was amazing! We looked absolutely lethal going forward and this was now the 4'th game were we've scored 4 or more goals.
Yeah, we've let in a lot and it does seem like I need some more defenders. Or, at least a or more that can actually defend. Or maybe it is a tactical issue? I'm not really sure, but we'll review and look at it and then we'll make changes if we need to. But I do think that we're at least in better shape than last year.

Linfield is always a good game and I was happy to see a 2-1 win. It was a pretty solid one and though they pulled 1 back, the win was never really in danger, as the midfield delivered at a very high level.
Dungannon had a superb season last year, but I really felt that we had a proper chance here.
But, The Swifts have gone from being a new Premier League team to being a solid top team.
How? I've got no idea, but it is a little frightening that you go from being sub-par to being top.
And the 4-0 made me pretty angry. I mean. I could have accepted a 3 goal loss. But that one goal is the difference between a tough loss and an embarrassment!
And I don't really care, but loosing 4-0 is bad to a team in the same league, is unacceptable. Unless it's against City or Liverpool. But that won't happen here.
Warrenpoint was a close one. they kept pulling us back, 5-10 minutes after we had scored and it made me question the concentration of my defenders. Surely they can't do that, every time?
A late, late, LATE goal gave us all three points and though that was good, I could have done without the bloody highlights of freekicks and throw-ins that leads to nothing!

And then came Glenavon. Uhhhh... I'm getting angry again!!
I just. I just... I just really HATE GLENAVON!!!
I'm not even going to waste my time on them. We lead for 75 minutes.
Then they equalise in the 76'th minute and of COURSE. I mean. OF COURSE, they fu"!€%#"%/& score in the 87'th minute!!!
I. Was. FUMING. I just can't believe, that no matter the form we're in, the goals we score or for how long we lead, Glenavon always wins.
Let's. Let's move on before this ruins my entire night.

October and The Fuc"!@ Four

Right. I've calmed down now. A little. But I had to take my anger out on someone and Larne were the next on the list! 
Come on boys!!! Let us demolish them!
It was a pretty exciting game. I will say that much.
We took the lead after 30 minutes and added another 8 minutes later. I was very happy going into halftime with a solid lead, but I told them that I wanted more! That I was disappointed with the performance and they all reacted with joy!
I had a team that wanted to absolutely destroy Larne, after those bloody Glenavonian bastardos!
We came out flying for the second half and it only took 5 minutes, before we banged in a third and put the game in the bag.
Well. At least we thought so.
After 65 minutes the pulled one back and then they started looking more up for it.
And they were! 3 minutes later, they pulled back another one!! And just like that, we had a game on our hands and I had the nerves on my sleeve again.
Were we really going to throw this one away?
Another secure lead, blow in a matter of minutes?
It was a nervy last 25 minutes with a lot of fouls and freekicks.
We had a total of 12 fouls in the last part of the game, BUT we managed to hold on.
Three important points for the table and we found ourselves in third. but only JUST above 4'th. 
I kept trying to get the board to allow me more coaches and relay the pitch, but they just kept denying me. I was getting a little annoyed at the board. I'm responsible for the success this club is having, the least they can do, is to help me!

So I asked them to turn the club into a fully professional club, so that I could get better players, coaches and really make this into a dominant team.

THIS is what a supportive board does. YES. This means that I can really build this team into an amazing, dominating team. Let us get this train on the track!
November was going to be a great month!
LET'S GET IT!

November and The Trouncing Three

With the news of going Pro running through the hallways, the team looked fired up. And I felt a little sorry for Ballymena Utd. The game was over before it started and we had them in the bag with 3-0 at half-time. The second half picked up where we left off and we scored a 4'th after 4 minutes. They pulled one back after 64 minutes and another at 74, but the game was never really in danger and w closed it in the 80'th minute.
5-2 and we were on the right track for sure. I felt confident and happy about the path we were on, especially because we were turning pro before the next season. I mean, that is great news, regardless of how you look at it.
So I expected a demolition job against Institute.

Little did I know that WE were the ones being demolished.
The scored 3 really fast and it was an uphill battle from them on. We score a consolation goal after 60-ish minutes and made three subs to no avail. It was just not our day. We were never looking like we could go head to head with them.
VERY disappointing and I had this sneaking feeling that something was awry.
Coleraine. Yeah, not much to say. We had the lead until the 86'th minute and then threw it away again. again, again. AGAIN!!
Honestly. I was getting pretty tired of the same old story here. Surely there must be something that can be done?
I've changed the tactics, changed players, adjusted training schedules and mentoring groups. But nothing seems to work. We just can't find a good melody to play and we flip-flop so so much.
Now. There is another story to be told.
In the start of November, I saw that the Superliga club had fired their manager.
Silkeborg IF was officially looking for a new leader.
I've been playing football in the shadows of the stadium when I was a kid. I played my first cup game in the actual stadium. With only about 500 in the stands, but still.

(This is the old stadium. The legendary stadium. They've built a new one in the north part of town. With a 3.G pitch that the entire league rates as one of the worst to play on.
The old pitch was of course grass and always lovely. The groundskeeper was one of the best in the league.
What made this stadium so special, was the little hut you see in the bottom right corner. That is where the teams change. You can see the cage with a bus. That is for the away team. They don't leave the stadium area and do their warmups in the stadium. The pitch you see at the bottom of the picture, funnily enough, does NOT belong to Silkeborg IF, but to a club called Silkeborg Boldklub. I know. I know. How crazy. But quite fun. It's obviously a feeder club, but still. 
The "non Stand" at the left is where we put the away fans. Because screw them.

I've attended numerous games and met all the players and hung out with them on many occasions.
Silkeborg IF was the club I wanted to play for, ever since I was a kid. I had dreams about being the first coloured player on the national team, representing SIF.
So, I thought to myself, maybe I should throw my hat in the ring? My credentials were nowhere near good enough, but during my tenure at Ballinamallard I had gotten my Continental B license, so at least I had the coaching requirements to at least be considered.
Plus, the club is my favourite club, so the love I have for them, should at least get me an interview.
So I declared my interest.

Well. File that under C for Curveball. I didn't know that they'd be flattered. I thought they would laugh off my interest. Maybe I should apply?
No. No no. I can't do that. I'll let them come to me if they want. At least they know that I'm interested and that I'm might consider it.
So we moved on in Ballinamallard.

And then Esbjerg approached me. They're a Superliga club and if they wanted me, I was certain that SIF would approach me as well. Because that meant that I was interesting for them.
I had to decline the interview. I didn't want to jeopardise the slim chance of SIF approaching me.
We had a couple of weeks without games, so I spent my days looking at the squad and trying to find out how to get the best out of the defence. They had been the issue for the last couple of seasons and I had to get something done.

*We've got some exciting news for you!*

(Yes. I sent a bloody application. I had to. When Esbjerg approached me, the day after I decided that I had to try and chase this down.)
So they offered me an interview. 
Oh boy. I was pretty excited about this! I just had to say the right things, but also make sure that they knew that I wasn't going to bend to their will.
Phew. Pretty exciting times!!!

*BREAKING NEWS*

HOLY SHIT!!!
They did it. They offered me the bloody job! How amazing! Me, in charge of the Superliga team in Silkeborg. I was as giddy as a bunch of horse meat being sold as beef!

Ladies and Gentlemen (And The Llama)...
I am now The Manager Mann for Silkeborg IF!!!!!
From Northern Ireland to the Danish Superliga!!
What a journey!!
And this save has turned into a semi Journeyman save.
From wanting to be loyal, to chasing the dream and the trophies instead. 
But I'll be honest. I feel like this is the highest I could have dreamt of for a long while.

So. What is the club that I have taken over and what is the status?
Let us have a wee look.

Cool. Maybe I made a mistake? Should I reload the save?
I've taken over the club, as they are fighting to get out of the relegation battle and in economical trouble.
AND, they want to finish in the top half! Hm. It might be that I have made a premature mistake and will pay for it, as we get to the business end of the season.
Is it bad that I hope that The Mallards don't get into Europe without me?
Is it bad that I hope My Old Club also gets relegated?
Wauw. That is a lot of forbidden feelings.
But it kinda. I kinda brought it on myself.

Right. Okay. Let us at least look at the stadium then.
JYSK Park is a brand new stadium, built partly by the Silkeborg Business Legend, Lars Larsen who built the company: jysk.dk / jysk homeware from scratch.
It's a company with 23.000+ employees, 2.800 stores in 52 countries and an annual turnover of 4+ Billion Euro's.
So the dear Lars had the money to fund the club! He never owned it, but did talk about buying it. But he did finance the stadium because he loved the club and wanted the club to an ambassador.
Unfortunately, he passed away last year and the entire country was out in force and paying tribute to what he had built and done for the country. He was a great man who kept his feet well placed in the Danish soil. And, here's the kicker. In spite of being worth billions, Lars spent days working in his stores, all over the world. He did it to ensure that his workers were happy, content and well looked after. "How can I know, if I don't work with them?"
His wife, a lovely, warm and caring women, still worked full-time in a flagship store as, yup, a cashier!
"I love it. I wouldn't change it for the world, so why would I change my job just because we own the company?"
I mean. Come on. That is exactly what you want from people with money. They gave, and give, so much to the country, benefits, charities and all that. Perfect people.
But that is a different story!
Back to what it's actually about, JYSK Park.

Look at that. How gorgeous is that? 10.000, 6.000 of them sitting. The seats are coloured differently, as to give the illusion of a full stadium, when not packed.
I was taking over a club in disarray, but at least a club with plenty of potential.
I'm could start discussing the job that I have at hand, but I have taken enough of your time for today.
So next time, we will look at Silkeborg IF, the squad, the staff, the economy and the first season in charge, (Maybe the last if I don't survive the drop? Guess we'll find out.)

And the song from the start?
"Goodbye, Franz. This will be our last dance. I have to go away, though I love you. The vacation has ended for me."
Which for me, rings true to my relationship with The Mallards.
Without them, I would not have made it to where I am now.
Thank you, Ballinamallard, for welcoming a young Dane and making him feel like home.
Until we meet again. 

And you, My Dear FM Community.
Thank you once again for reading my blog. You are an amazing community and the support is fantastic.

Until the next time, May the Force be with you...

The Manager Mann
All rights reserved 2020
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started