Return of the Mack: Episode 4

28/09/2020

Ah. There you are!
What took you so long? I've been waiting for you!
You're gonna wanna read this. All, of this.
Oh, and if you need to catch-up, then have a quick read of the last paragraphs in this one:
https://themanagermann.webnode.com/l/return-of-the-mack-episode-3/

Here we go!

Well then. Wauw.
What a game! FCM scored 2 goals in quick succession and I thought we were down and out. I thought we would get our butts kicked.
But the ever-present Captain, Mark Brink, dragged us back in the game with a real poachers effort.
2-1 at half-time and I was getting my hopes up. A draw would give us a chance in the second half.
In the 72'nd minute I had to make a change. I thought I could either go for it and get it or accept a loss.
After all, it doesn't really matter if you loose 2-1 or 4-1. Unless its a 2 legged tie, which I forgot that this was!
Out with Canto on the DM and in with Frederiksen on the CAM.
It only took a handful of minutes after that change, until we grabbed the equaliser Completely undeserved and against the run of play. But a draw was good. Very good. We had to travel to FCM for the second leg a couple of days after, which was fine, because I've worked hard on the fitness levels of the team, to ensure that these things wouldn't effect us too much.

So, let us get to the game!
The Second Championship Semi Final! The first in the clubs history and the first in mine.
FC Midtjylland away.
Let's go!

The team for the game, was already set. It was the same 11 that had taken us this far. Again, my reluctance to risk upsetting the balance, played a key part in keeping everything the same.
First half kicked off and it was a half with plenty of chances and fouls.
We had several close calls in both ends and I knew that this was not going to finish a 0-0, but at least with a couple of goals.
But it took until the 43'rd minute before a highlight started, that lead to something.
FCM had the ball and was playing it around outside our box, when out of nowhere, they fluffed a shot and Swolff had to pull out a wonder save. He pushed it over the bar and they took the corner.
I was nervous.
Ball comes in...
Gradit heads it away...
FCM picks it up and shoots first time!
WELL over the bar and we went in to the break all square.
Exciting first half, but of course I was not happy. We had been run over by them in all parts of the pitch and I wanted to see a much better performance in the second half.
No changes and right back into the second half of the biggest game in many recent years.
We started pushing and we suddenly had the ball a lot more than them. We just needed to use it better. So I asked them to start shooting on sight after 60 minutes.
And, just as I said that, the beauty that is Jose Hernandez, scuffed in a ball and gave us the lead.
0-1 after an hour and suddenly everything had changed.
In our favour nonetheless.
But who else to give us the lead, than Hernandez? (don't you dare mention bloody Jared!)
I was a lot more relaxed and told them to concentrate. Please don't do anything stupid guys. Please.
A highlight started after 74 minutes... Dammit... I should have kept my mouth shut!
Why did I say that? I jinxed it!
FCM had the ball outside our box. Sory Kaba with the shot!
Off the defender! Long ball up to Geertsen on the wing.
Geertsen alone! Breaks the defence!
SHOOT!!!!
...
...
...
GOAL!!! 0-2 after 75 minutes! We are NOT throwing this away now! Get in!
Highlight after 76 minutes starts. Yes, another one. Just finish them off now!
Sory Kaba. Andersson. Kaba... Kaba... KABAAAA!!
1-2 after 77.. DAMMIT!
Highlight after 83 minutes starts...
Fine. I'll leave the room. I'll quit this fuc*ing team! I hate FM anyway. Who honestly wants to sit and play a stupid game like this anyway...
"FM Blogger"... Piss off mate...
What?
...
It's a RED card!? To whom?
FCM!?
YES!
Joel Andersson got a direct red and with 5 minutes left, this game is in the bag!
Well done! I love this game!
This is amazing. No wonder people spend so long on this game. It is amazing.
I love FM.
This is going to make a great post for my FM Blog.
Yes!


Wauw. Wauw, wauw, wauw, wauw.
We're in the final!!!!
I mean. We're secured a Top 2 finish in the League. Even though we finished fourth.
And, quite a bit behind the league leaders actually.
What a stupid system.
Heck, I don't care! We're in the Final!
Wait, that also means that... Right..?

Holy Crap!
CHAMPIONS LEAGUE!!!! IN SILKEBORG!!! That is insane!
I cannot believe that. For the love of all that is holy. What. The. Heck.
Honestly. There must be a mistake, surely?
That can't be.
Crazy!
And, how did the other Semi Final go?

AGF!?!? This just gets better and better! Bring on the Derby!

This is amazing!
I can't wait to get to that game.
Can we fast forward?
We can?
Amazing!
Lets go!!!

The first Championship match was at home. A sold out Jysk Park was buzzing, well before kick off. Everyone was gathered outside the stadium and at the City Square to watch the game on the massive screens that we had put up.
This is not "Just a Championship" match.
This was against one of the oldest rivals to Silkeborg IF.
A club that, often, claims that they are the best in the region.
Sure, they're the bigger city, but we're the bigger club, based on fanbase and trophies.
So they need to pip down!
And this match is going to be hard fought. I'll be VERY suprised if we don't see at least one red card.
Everything is riding on this one.

We kicked off in the sun and with the roar of the 8000 home fans behind us!
KOM SÅ DE RØE'!
A highlight started after 5 minutes and I was excited!
Brink had the ball, long pass forward to Geertsen. Back to Brink who takes it forward.
Brink outside the box, passes it to the wing to Toyne.
Jared Toyne... Kicks it out to a throw in... Bloody JARED!!!
We had to wait until the 23rd minute to get a decent highlight.
Fulgsang passes to Canto. Canto takes it forward.
Jonathan Cantooo... Play it out wide to Geertsen! Shots!
SAVE. Corner to SIF.
Bajrami takes this corner.
Hit an out swinger!
RIGHT INTO THE FOREHEAD OF BRINK!!!
GOAL!
1-0 SILKEBORG!
Fantastic header by the captain, who powers his way through a sea of defenders, to power the ball into the back of the net.
Game on!
Another highlight started at 31 minutes.
Fuc/!"¤"& Jared Toyne with the ball form own half.
Tsh. He's gonna run it out the pitch of course.
Toyne somehow runs through the defence!
1v1!
TOYNE!!
JARED TOYNE!!! SHOOOOOT!!!!!!
GOAL!!!!!
Bloody Jared Toyne with an absolute blinder!
2-0 and 31 minutes played!
Amazing play by Silkeborg.
Can they really do this?
Are we looking at the new Champions of Denmark?
Surely not!?
Half-time and was a speech that was given!
I'm SO pleased. Keep it going!

50th minute highlight...
Shit..
Just. Just give me a victory. It doesn't need to be big, just a small on.
Please?
Dear FM Engine. Please don't screw me over again!
Freekick to SIF?
Go on then. I'll watch the highlight.
Hernandez on the ball. Come on son. Smash it!
...
...
...
GOAL! Fu*k me! WHAT!?!?!
3-0!!
I can't believe this?
Has the match engine broken?
Let me just go get a coffee, because this is crazy.
*leaves to get a coffee (forgets to pause the match)*
...
...
Highlight starts 56'th minute.
Ibsen with a long ball forward.
Hernandez runs on it.
Shots from just inside the box...
GOAL! 4-0!!
SIF are hammering AGF back to the stoneage with an absolute blinder of a match.
Well done lads.
...
...
Highlight started 87'th minute.
Corner to AGF.
In swinger from Munksgaard.
IN THE FACE of Brumado.
4-1 with 2 minutes left.
Final whistle...
Silkeborg wins 4-1.
*I return with my coffee*

WHAT?! NO! I forgot to press fucking pause?! What happened?
4-1? Wauw. Okay. Well that's great! I'll have to watch the highlight now.

Right. So let me just catch up myself.
We won the first leg, quite emphatically.
So going into the second leg, unless they win 3-0, we're going to Champions?
Wauw.
I can't really. I can't really fathom that we're within reach of the first title since 1994.
That's insane. I can feel the pressure a little. Nerves. I feel like a McDonald's Milkshake - Poorly Shaken, slightly lumpy and a little sour.

I'm. I'm just gonna go ahead and get to the last game!
I'm excited and nervous, all at once.

Kickoff at 19:30 in the beautiful evening sun.
This is perfect!
I can't wait, and yet I really wish I didn't have to play this game.
SO MUCH PRESSURE!

HighLigh.... What?
You're sick of this format? Oh... Okay...
So just? Just give it? No teasing?
Isn't that a bit...
You know...
Boring?
No?
...
...
What about if I just tease the key highlights then?
Oh Goodie!
Thank you! I'll be quick... Ish...


Highlight 19'th minute!
Hard tackle by Poulsen and the first booking of the match. I'm sure we'll see a lot more of those!
AGF have it all to do and MUST score three times, while still preventing a high-flying, high-scoring SIF from scoring. Not an easy task by any means.
Highlight 38th minut!
Another hard tackle by AGF, this time by Jason Kerr. Ref brandishes the second yellow card of the game.
The AGF players seems like they have been asked to test the shinpads and bone strength of the SIF players!
Highlight 43rd minute!
AGF Counter Attack. Bror Blum. Through pass to Brumado. SHOOTS!
Post and back into play! Blume hits it towards the penalty spot!
MUNKSGAARD!
1-0! (2-4 agg)
AGF has a chance to pull off a comeback for the ages!
Highlight 44th minute!
AUCH! You can hear the sound of the studs on the shin-pads, as Munksgaard lathers Bajrami with a terrible tackle.
Surely that's a red card?
No!? Yellow only. That is a let off for AGF.
Half-time!
Aggressively: "Im NOT happy with what I've just seen. Go out there and show me something else in the second half!"

Highlight 50th minute!
Freekick in the middle of the park.
Ref walks over... Hand in pocket...
OHH! Oh. Just another Yellow, this time for Jaadi. 4 cards, all for AGF so far.

Highlight 64th minute!
Uhh. Something other than a card maybe?
Bajrami with the ball. Passes to Brink, back to Canto. Down the middle to Canto!
Canto!! Through ball!
Hernadeeeeeeeezzzz!!!!!!!!!!!!!
GOAL! 1-1 (2-5 agg)!
Silkeborg IF are incredibly close to doing the unthinkable!
Can they hold on? AGF are throwing everything forward and yet, SIF are still trying to play beautiful football.

Highlight 71st minute!
Uhhh.. Another knee high tackle?
I can't belive that AGF still have all men on the pitch.
Another yellow, the fifth of the game and all to AGF.
They are furious and frustrated.
Silkeborg are STILL trying to play the ball around.

Highlight 80th minute!
Throw in for AGF.
Back to the keeper who lofts it up the pitch. Picked up by Brumado who runs at the defence.
Breaks through!
Has to shoot!
AND DOES!!
GOAL! 2-1 (3-5 agg)
Brumado gives AGF a lifeline but with 10+ minutes left, it is surely too late now?
The Silkeborg players and fans are looking at the clock constantly.
6 minutes of regular time to play.
...
...
Highlight 85th minute!
AGF with the corner.
Into the box!
Swolfs come out ans punches it away!
Gradit clears it to the AGF half.
3 minutes of regular time to play.
...
...
...
Highlight 90th minute!
NOTHING!
FINAL WHISTLE!!!!!

HOLY COW!!!!!!!!
WE'VE DONE IT!!!!
WE'RE CHAMPIONS!!!
OH MY FREAKING GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
WHAT! IS! HAPPENING!
I MUST BE DREAMING!?!?!?
SURELY !!!!! AAGRHGRHEGR!!!!!!!!

I'm  not dreaming. It's actually true.
We've done it. I'm crying here!
I'm honestly, in tears!
I can't believe this.

I know I've been saying this for so long. But. I took over when we were 13'th! Took us to 4'th and NOW CHAMPIONS!!!
FUC* OFF THAT IS INSANE!!

Tsh... Bloody Jared kissing ass again... Get away from me!!!
!Jared!
...
...
Well, I'm not being nice now.
No no, in all honestly. He has been amazing.
I've learned to love him.
Like... Like Quasimodo, he has his uses.
And I'm really happy that I managed to pick him up for cheap. Like I've mentioned already, he will be too big for the club before too long and then I will miss him for sure.
Look at the stats.

In the league, he has played 14 games, scored 8 goals, made 7 assists, 4 Player of the Match, 3 yellow, 1 red (Bloody Jared!!!), he makes 5.63 dribbles pr. game, 58% of his shots hits the target, 67% of his passes, he wins 87%! of his tackles and his average match rating is: 7.72.

Look at that final table!
We're 19 points behind the leaders, and yet we're the Champions.
That goes to show, how absolutely ridiculous this "Championship Playoff" really is.
So unfair to FCM, who's been unbeatable in the league. Loose 2 games against teams you've beaten before and suddenly you're title is gone.
Shite if I'm honest.
I mean. We only JUST managed to get into the Championship Group, then we made into the Championship Playoff and somehow, we usurped the team that's been playing above everybody else.
I really don't think it's a fair way of deciding a title.

Of course, we did play exceptionally well and we're undefeated in my tenure, had it not been for the loss in the last game of the season against AGF.
But hey ho. Still pretty elated with the results!


WE'RE CHAMPIONS!!!
I'M OVER THE MOON!!!
I just. I'm at a loss for words. Never had I thought that this was something that I could pull off, let alone in my first season, after taking over when fighting relegation.
It really just does show how volatile football can be.
And, if you have a good squad that has bonded, defeating teams that are much stronger on paper and player for player, is not an issue.

We did it! You and I. We did it!
I love you all!
YEEEEE!!!!!!

Just. Just look at this again.
I still can't believe it.

Now begins the preparation for the new season. We're going into Europe! Or, at least we're in the Qualifications. We enter in the second round and have to win 4 matches to get to the group stage. Should we somehow make it, we'll be getting a lot of money and it will be easier for me to negotiate new contracts with the star players and getting new players in.
So all in all, that is pretty good.
But we gotta get there first of all.

In the off season/pre season, we need to focus on the fitness, because we've only got a month? until we start again.
Rough!

In the next one, we'll look at where I need to strengthen the squad, if I need to sell, the financial situation and of course take on the Champions League Qualification.

Until the next one, stay safe, stay cool, wash your hands and wear your facemask!


The Manager Mann
All rights reserved 2020
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started